The World of WorkCraft

I don’t know if anyone is having this problem but it has been plaguing me for the last six weeks or so, since before my last blog post actually. In fact it probably dates back to about the time I dinged level 70. I don’t know how it happened but suddenly WoW has become like work for me.

The other day I caught myself thinking it was time to make a to-do list of all the things I need to do for my large horde of alts as well as my level 70. I caught myself mid-thought, and nearly started hyperventilitating at how my whole approach had changed towards this game. I mean, if I wanted to worry about to-do lists (and the things on them) I have plenty of those at work!! What was I thinking???? This is supposed to be a GAME! But every time I log in lately all I can think about is the massive amounts of things I should be doing (mostly for my level 70 warlock) and none of them seem like fun – it all just feels like work.

I tried leveling up alts, to distract myself and also find some enjoyment in the game again but somehow it just didn’t distract me enough from the things I felt I should be doing.

This all seems to come back to my particularly strange brand of personality, which includes fun adjectives such as perfectionist, goal oriented, achievement focused and pain in the ass!!! (I mean seriously girl just play the game and enjoy it – don’t turn it into something it’s not meant to be – especially work!).

So I’ve been taking a bit more time away from the game (shock horror) and tonight when I returned I had some fun again. Although I was playing my level 19 Orc Warrior alt, which was a totally different experience to the warlock. By the end of the session (thanks to years of accrued blue bar) I finished at level 21 and was dual wielding swords like the Count of Monte Christo (cough, after he was taught to use them of course).

After naming this post I felt like I heard the phrase World of WorkCraft before so I searched in youtube and found a really enjoyable little video that I had seen before. It’s sort of on the topic; hope you enjoy!

~ by silvergirl2010 on 20 July, 2008.

One Response to “The World of WorkCraft”

  1. Hi. I have a post up on my (completely new) blog about this amusing issue. I played WoW for a month and I think it’s kind of soulless, like you’re just going to work in the virtual world. And it’s very much menial, repetitive labour after the first 10 or so levels. Now that you’re 70th level you’ve got none of the real rewards (gaining levels) and just the workaday tedium… and in any other game you would have stopped playing now, since your experiential climax would correspond with the narrative climax.

    I think it may be an inherent problem of MMORPGs.

Leave a Reply

 
